Adding "background task running" to status bar  Topic is solved

Discussions relating to plugin development, and the Jiwa API.

Adding "background task running" to status bar

Postby pricerc » Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:38 am

So, in lieu of a way of executing a scheduled task manually, I've added a button to a form that does the job (it's mostly for testing, but the client wants to be able to run it manually if needs be).

The code runs in a background worker, and is working well.

However, right now, there's no telling that it's busy, or when it's done. I don't want to make it a foreground process, because it can run for a while, and I don't want to block the UI.

Can I add a control to the status bar? I was thinking something like a 'marquee' style progress bar or hour-glass that the user can click on to cancel the process.
/Ryan

ERP Consultant,
Advanced ERP Limited, NZ
https://aerp.co.nz
User avatar
pricerc
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 504
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Auckland, NZ
Topics Solved: 20

Re: Adding "background task running" to status bar

Postby Mike.Sheen » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:01 pm

pricerc wrote:Can I add a control to the status bar?


Yes.
Mike Sheen
Chief Software Engineer
Jiwa Financials

If I do answer your question to your satisfaction, please mark it as the post solving the topic so others with the same issue can readily identify the solution
User avatar
Mike.Sheen
Overflow Error
Overflow Error
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Perth, Republic of Western Australia
Topics Solved: 755

Re: Adding "background task running" to status bar

Postby pricerc » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:22 pm

:P
/Ryan

ERP Consultant,
Advanced ERP Limited, NZ
https://aerp.co.nz
User avatar
pricerc
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 504
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Auckland, NZ
Topics Solved: 20

Re: Adding "background task running" to status bar  Topic is solved

Postby SBarnes » Thu Aug 15, 2019 11:27 am

Take a look at the UltraStatusBar1 property on the main form the help on UltraStatusBar is here although it's not the correct version it should give you what you need https://help.infragistics.com/Help/Doc/WinForms/2012.1/CLR2.0/html/Infragistics2.Win.UltraWinStatusBar.v12.1~Infragistics.Win.UltraWinStatusBar.UltraStatusBar_members.html
Regards
Stuart Barnes
SBarnes
Shihan
Shihan
 
Posts: 1617
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:27 pm
Topics Solved: 175


Return to Technical and or Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron