Add new field to Inventory Form  Topic is solved

Discussions relating to plugin development, and the Jiwa API.

Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Ernst » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:21 pm

Customer wants to Know.. So i thought I may as well ask.

Under JIWA7

Is it possible to add new fields to a JIWA form.

E.g. on the Inventory Maintenance form, Under Status on the right hand side, they would like a new field to appear?
User avatar
Ernst
Kohai
Kohai
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:43 pm
Topics Solved: 12

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Mike.Sheen » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:25 pm

Ernst wrote:Is it possible to add new fields to a JIWA form.

E.g. on the Inventory Maintenance form, Under Status on the right hand side, they would like a new field to appear?


Absolutely it's possible.

Simply create the control, position / parent it and add the necessary event handlers to capture changes made to it by the user and to populate values on Read, Create, Copy, Change of the business logic.
Mike Sheen
Chief Software Engineer
Jiwa Financials

If I do answer your question to your satisfaction, please mark it as the post solving the topic so others with the same issue can readily identify the solution
User avatar
Mike.Sheen
Overflow Error
Overflow Error
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Perth, Republic of Western Australia
Topics Solved: 755

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Ernst » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:43 pm

OK doable is good. Possible is close.. making it happen is ..infinite time..:)

I see there is a sample from scott back in 2015. viewtopic.php?f=27&t=404

Is there any sample plugin, that would do this for JIWA7.02. e.g. to inventory form.

Or documentation how to proceed. Sure would be a game changer for a lot of customers.
User avatar
Ernst
Kohai
Kohai
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:43 pm
Topics Solved: 12

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form  Topic is solved

Postby Mike.Sheen » Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:59 pm

Ernst wrote:OK doable is good. Possible is close.. making it happen is ..infinite time..:)


You could always pay us to make it for you in a finite amount of time - It would sometimes be more economical to pay us rather than spend hours trying to work it out yourself.

The attached took me 20 minutes.
Attachments
Plugin Add Field To Inventory Maintenance.xml
Sample plugin
(36.58 KiB) Downloaded 95 times
Mike Sheen
Chief Software Engineer
Jiwa Financials

If I do answer your question to your satisfaction, please mark it as the post solving the topic so others with the same issue can readily identify the solution
User avatar
Mike.Sheen
Overflow Error
Overflow Error
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Perth, Republic of Western Australia
Topics Solved: 755

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Ernst » Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:19 pm

thanks.. Thats great service. Will check it out. And request Quotes for difficult stuff.

Ive got a quote request going on JIWA-4938, since 25 Aug. Still waiting..
User avatar
Ernst
Kohai
Kohai
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:43 pm
Topics Solved: 12

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Mike.Sheen » Mon Sep 09, 2019 4:09 pm

Ernst wrote:Ive got a quote request going on JIWA-4938, since 25 Aug. Still waiting..


That's currently sitting at a status of Waiting for Support.

Chase it up with the support department - we only do service work when they assign it to the programming team. That job hasn't yet been assigned to us.

And to be fair - you first logged it on the 25th of August, but there's been ongoing discussions between you and support up to and including today about clarifying what it is you want.

Claiming it's been waiting for us to do since August 25 is unfair and disingenuous.
Mike Sheen
Chief Software Engineer
Jiwa Financials

If I do answer your question to your satisfaction, please mark it as the post solving the topic so others with the same issue can readily identify the solution
User avatar
Mike.Sheen
Overflow Error
Overflow Error
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Perth, Republic of Western Australia
Topics Solved: 755

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Ernst » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:08 pm

Did some changes to get the Label to show. Re Quote. Just seems to be very drawn out process to collect all the facts. Hope the customer has not lost interest.. Thanks for speeding it up. I see its in programming status now. :D

' Add a label to accompany the Textbox
Dim newLabel As New Infragistics.Win.Misc.UltraLabel()
newLabel.Name = "LabelField1"
newLabel.Text = "Text"
newLabel.Size = inventoryForm.Aux1Label.Size
newLabel.Anchor = inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Anchor
newLabel.Left = inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Left
newLabel.Top = inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Top + inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Height + 20
inventoryForm.UltraPanel11.ClientArea.Controls.Add(newLabel)
User avatar
Ernst
Kohai
Kohai
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:43 pm
Topics Solved: 12

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Mike.Sheen » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:28 pm

Ernst wrote:Did some changes to get the Label to show.

' Add a label to accompany the Textbox
Dim newLabel As New Infragistics.Win.Misc.UltraLabel()
newLabel.Name = "LabelField1"
newLabel.Text = "Text"
newLabel.Size = inventoryForm.Aux1Label.Size
newLabel.Anchor = inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Anchor
newLabel.Left = inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Left
newLabel.Top = inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Top + inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Height + 20
inventoryForm.UltraPanel11.ClientArea.Controls.Add(newLabel)


Well done! - I didn't even notice the label wasn't showing! - I was just focused on the textbox.

It looks like I just didn't set the top property correctly - so it was appearing at the same top as the status label - so the only change needed was to change this:
Code: Select all
newLabel.Top = inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Top

to this:
Code: Select all
newLabel.Top = inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Top + inventoryForm.StatusLabel.Height + 20


Ernst wrote:Re Quote. Just seems to be very drawn out process to collect all the facts. Hope the customer has not lost interest.. Thanks for speeding it up. I see its in programming status now. :D

If you don't want to spend the time concisely communicating what it is you want us to do in order to provide a quote, then we could always liaise with the customer directly... but if we did that, what use are you?
Mike Sheen
Chief Software Engineer
Jiwa Financials

If I do answer your question to your satisfaction, please mark it as the post solving the topic so others with the same issue can readily identify the solution
User avatar
Mike.Sheen
Overflow Error
Overflow Error
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Perth, Republic of Western Australia
Topics Solved: 755

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Ernst » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:09 pm

True... I just think we need to work together to provide a more timely response.
Taking three weeks for a 2 hour quote, is going to put us both out of business.

They already have another request, on spreading the sell price of a quote. How long will that one take.

If we can both provide quick timely responses, customers will request a lot more.

I know its nice to have a lot of detail before providing a quote. But you need to be able to draw the line between exactly how detailed it needs to be.

In this example, there was a lot of 2 and frooing about the account structure, and warehouse/ branch masking. But the the code, should be applying standard

JIWA logic to accounts number anyway, so why was all that necessary?

PS Still waiting for quote...:)
User avatar
Ernst
Kohai
Kohai
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:43 pm
Topics Solved: 12

Re: Add new field to Inventory Form

Postby Ernst » Fri Sep 13, 2019 2:42 pm

OK, have sort of adjusted that to work as Integer as required by Customer.

Its text on Maintenance, but integer on Custom field.

Have billed customer for .25 of your time. And Paid it over to JIWA. Since you did the hard work...;). Thx.
User avatar
Ernst
Kohai
Kohai
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:43 pm
Topics Solved: 12

Next

Return to Technical and or Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron