Page 2 of 3

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 1:20 am
by Riyaz
Thanks Mike and Stuart

Have already tried this, even reupgrading the database. I think the problem is that the users dont exist in the master database. If It try to create them using below queries, I get the errors underneath the queries. Have also uploaded a screenshot

CREATE LOGIN JiwaUser WITH Password = 'JiwaFinancials123'
CREATE LOGIN JiwaReports WITH Password = 'JiwaFinancials123'

Msg 15025, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
The server principal 'JiwaUser' already exists.
Msg 15025, Level 16, State 1, Line 2
The server principal 'JiwaReports' already exists.

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 10:49 am
by pricerc
Riyaz wrote:Thanks Mike and Stuart

Have already tried this, even reupgrading the database. I think the problem is that the users dont exist in the master database. If It try to create them using below queries, I get the errors underneath the queries. Have also uploaded a screenshot

CREATE LOGIN JiwaUser WITH Password = 'JiwaFinancials123'
CREATE LOGIN JiwaReports WITH Password = 'JiwaFinancials123'

Msg 15025, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
The server principal 'JiwaUser' already exists.
Msg 15025, Level 16, State 1, Line 2
The server principal 'JiwaReports' already exists.


They are not needed in the master database.

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 10:53 am
by Mike.Sheen
Riyaz wrote:Have already tried this, even reupgrading the database.


So can you or can you not login to SSMS as JiwaUser?

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 10:55 am
by Riyaz
I cannot, I’ve tried all known passwords, JiwaFinancials123, etc

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 11:35 am
by SBarnes
Just change the password with a script like


Code: Select all
alter login JiwaUser with password = 'JiwaFinancials123'

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 11:48 am
by Riyaz
Have tried that too, get the attached error.

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 11:51 am
by SBarnes
Read what the error says, you need the manager to show the database up the top as master in Azure you cant just change it up the top you need to be on that database when you open the sql window.

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 12:48 pm
by Riyaz
Yes Stuart, but the users are not listed in master database, pls see my screenshot that I had sent earlier. Its very strange, could be the restriction with Azure SQL

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 12:53 pm
by SBarnes
This is not a problem related to Azure SQL under normal SQL they don't exist on the master database either, they are logins to the actual server but you must be on the master database to execute those commands.

Re: Jiwa on Azure

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2023 12:56 pm
by Riyaz
Understood, thanks for that