Page 1 of 1

"rowhash" field in IN_BinlocationLookup

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:32 pm
by lennykp
It's Jiwa7.0.78, need to upload some bin locations into IN_BinLocationLookup via MS access. There is now an extra field called rowhash, what is it ?
what value does it need? table definition says "timestamp, not null" when I open this table in sql, the values says "<Binary data>" when I open table to see data.

Do I just need to put in a SYSDATETIME () value for this rowhash field?
When you have the answer, will your solution work for any table with this "rowhash" field in it?

Lenny

Re: "rowhash" field in IN_BinlocationLookup  Topic is solved

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:35 pm
by Mike.Sheen
lennykp wrote:It's Jiwa7.0.78, need to upload some bin locations into IN_BinLocationLookup via MS access. There is now an extra field called rowhash, what is it ?
what value does it need? table definition says "timestamp, not null" when I open this table in sql, the values says "<Binary data>" when I open table to see data.

Do I just need to put in a SYSDATETIME () value for this rowhash field?
When you have the answer, will your solution work for any table with this "rowhash" field in it?

Lenny


Hi Lenny,

The RowHash is column values are generated by SQL - it's more like a row version than a hash - you should not attempt to provide that column data when performing inserts - simply do not provide it and SQL will generate the value for you.

e.g.:
Code: Select all
INSERT INTO IN_BinLocationLookup (INBinLookupID, LastSavedDateTime, INLogicalID, Description, ShortName, ItemNo, IsDefault)
SELECT 'xxx1', getdate(), 'ZZZZZZZZZ000000000', 'test', 'tst', 1, 0

Re: "rowhash" field in IN_BinlocationLookup

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:37 pm
by Scott.Pearce
Further, the system uses the timestamp fields for concurrency control.

Re: "rowhash" field in IN_BinlocationLookup

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:29 pm
by lennykp
ok, just tried it in SQL Server and it works.
I wasn't able to insert the records in MS Access into a copy of IN_BinLocationLookup without the rowhash field. I get an error, can't append records due to validation rule violation. But I can insert into SQL Server link Jiwa table within Access.

Lenny